Oshoala, Iheanacho, Others Nominated For Glo-CAF Awards

Share Post:

Notice: has pop ads which means a new tab opens once you click, just click close the new tab and continue browsing.

Oshoala, Iheanacho, Others Nominated For  Glo-CAF Awards

Nigeria on Sunday made up for what it could not secure in the final cut for the Africa Player of the Year and Africa-based Player of the Year nominations.

Nigeria got seven nominations in the 13 other categories released by the Confederation of African Football for the Glo-CAF African Football Awards 2016.

The awards ceremony will take place in Abuja on Jan. 5. Super Falcons’ forward Asisat Oshoala and Super Eagles’ strikers Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi were among those nominated for honours at the awards.

Oshoala was listed alongside South African Janine Van Wyk, Ghanaian Elizabeth Addo and Cameroonians Gabrielle Onguene and Raissa Tchuanyo for the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Other contenders with her are Nacer Sandjak of CAF Confederation Cup winners MO Bejaia and Pitso Mosimane of CAF Champions League winners Mamelodi Sundowns. Nigeria’s Super Falcons will battle for Women’s Team of the Year award with Cameroon, Ghana, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Nigeria’s under-23 male team, who were bronze medal winners at the Rio Olympics, will slug it out with four others for the Men’s Team of the Year award.

About the author


There's beauty in the struggle - JCOLE!!!

Leave a Comment